- Tel. +30 6974039563


View Quality Marine in a larger map

The Greek Islands

Greece has around 6.000 islands and islets both in the Aegean and the Ionian Sea, a unique phenomenon on the European continent. Only 227 of these islands are inhabited.

 The Greek coastline covers an area of about 16.000 kilometers. The main features of the world renowned Greek coast are their unique geological attributes (long beaches, small gulfs, sandy beaches, rocky beaches with caves or the characteristic dark sand of the volcanic areas), their cleanliness and the clarity of the water that have made them popular among visitors all over the world

The Greek archipelagos have around 7.500 km of coastline with great geological features. Many of the beaches have been awarded through the European “Blue Flags” programme. The main way to enjoy this coastline is swimming and other activities include scuba diving, snorkeling, water skiing, sailing and wind surfing.

The Greek Islands are home to various ancient civilizations (Cycladic, Minoan etc) and have many archeological sites worth visiting together with unique architecture and enchanting local customs for one to experience. The Greek islands are amongst the most popular destinations worldwide where visitors can enjoy the exceptional climate, the safety of the Greek seas and the small distances between ports and coast. Most of the Greek islands are in the Aegean Sea and belong to seven archipelagos (from North to South):

Sporades: Alonissos, Skiathos, Skopelos, Skiros

Oinouses, Samos, Samothraki, Chios, Psara

Saronic Gulf islands: Agistri, Aigina, Poros, Salamina, Spetses, Hydra and the coastal territory of Methana.

Cyclades: Acomplex of 56 islands; the main ones are: Amorgos, Anafi, Andros, Antiparos, Dilos, ios, Tzia, Kimolos, Kithnos, Milos, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, Santorini, Serifos, Sikinos, Sifnos, Siros, Tinos, Folegndros and the “Small Cyclades” constituted by the islands Donousa, Sxinousa, heraclia and Koufonisia.

Dodecanissa: Astipalea, Kalymnos, Karpathos, Kasos, Kastelorizo, Kos, Lepsi, Leros, Nisiros, Patmos, Rhodes, Symi, Tilos, Chalki

Crete :The Ionian Sea has got only one archipelago:

The Ionian Islands: Zakynthos, Ithaca, Cefallonia, Lefcada, Paxi, Antipaxi, Erikousa, Mathraki, Othoni, Strofades. All these islands together with Kithira and Antikithira constitute the “Eptanissa”. Other beautiful destinations include the islands of Gavdos (south of Crete), Elafonisos (Lakonic Gulf) and Trizonia ( Corinthian Gulf).


Office.: +30 216 800 2686, Mob.: +30 6974039563, : 85 Vouliagmenis Avenue, 16674 Glyfada-Greece. City plaza mall 1st floor office 307, Email :

Copyright © Rib Cruises, 2013. All rights reserved.